Friday, 31 October 2008

W.O.D. Fri 31st Oct

For 1 minute:
Power Clean & Push Press for maximum reps
Rest 1 minute
Repeat for 10 rounds

Thursday, 30 October 2008

Squat "N" Row

W.O.D. Thu 30th Oct
"Squat 'n' Row"
20 reps back squat
row 800m
three rounds for time

Wednesday, 29 October 2008

W.O.D. Wed 29th Oct
Row 500m
30 Sit-ups
10 Press-ups
Row 750m
20 sit-ups
20 press-ups
Row 1000m
10 sit-ups
30 press-ups
Row 750m
20 sit-ups
20 press-ups
Row 500m
30 Sit-ups
10 Press-ups

2112 ~ where's the Rush

W.O.D. Tue 28th Oct
"2112 ~ where's the Rush"

21 Deadlifts 50%rm max
12 Shoulder Press
30 Box Steps

rounds in twenty minutes

Monday, 27 October 2008

Monday, Monday

For all of those that missed the pleasure of
Neleh yesterday, we decided to run it into
Monday to give everyone a shot at it.

Sunday, 26 October 2008


W.O.D. Sun 26th Oct

12 Pull-ups
21 Kettlebell Swing
250 m row
rounds in twenty minutes

Saturday, 25 October 2008


W.O.D. Sat 25th Oct
Shoulder Press
Air Squat
Kettlebell Swing
Row (cal)
For two rounds:
15 sec Shoulder Press then 45 sec rest
30 sec Shoulder Press then 30 sec rest
45 sec Shoulder Press then 15 sec rest
60 sec Shoulder Press then 120 sec rest
then repeat to complete round one with
the other disciplines.
3 minutes between round one and two

Friday, 24 October 2008

A short video of what goes on at BasixGym.

Here the members are half way through
Friday's workout of the day - Murph Gone Metric

We offer the option to either row or CrossFit Train.
In multi round workouts most people split between
the two options.

Murph gone metric

W.O.D. Fri 24th Oct
"Murph Gone Metric"
1500 m row follwed by:

5 rounds of;
20reps Wall Ball Shots
20reps Sumo Deadlift High Pull
20reps Box Jumps
20cal Row
20 Push Press

1500 m row to finish

Thursday, 23 October 2008

Easy like Sunday Morning

W.O.D. Thu 24th Oct
"Easy like Sunday Morning"
What an outright lie!!
It is not easy and it is not Sunday morning.
Really the workout for today is:
Sandy & Jennifer's Challenge variation "b"
Round 1, 4 mins each:
Row, CrossTrain, Box Step
Round 2, 3 mins each:
Row, CrossTrain, Box Step
Round 2, 2 mins each:
Row, CrossTrain, Box Step
Round 2, 1 mins each:
Row, CrossTrain, Box Step

1 minutes rest between each discipline
NB for box step multiply your count by 10.

Wednesday, 22 October 2008

W.O.D. Wed 22nd Oct

rounds in twenty minutes

videos courtesy of

Tuesday, 21 October 2008

Foley's Adventures of Ten Ten

W.O.D. Tue 21st Oct
"Foley's Adventures of Ten Ten"

10 reps Burpees
10 reps Kettlebell Swing
10 reps Sit-ups

rounds in twenty minutes
Videos courtesy of

Monday, 20 October 2008


W.O.D. Mon 20th Oct
"C i n d y"
She's back - just when you thought it was safe,
Cindy makes a welcome return.
5 Pull-ups
10 Push-ups
15 Squats
Have a good one.

Sunday, 19 October 2008

Sunday Supplement

W.O.D. Sun 19th Oct
"Chalk & Cheese ~ Part 2"
Folowing on Saturdays success of C & C we decided to
continue it into Sunday.
Well done everybody - fantastic effort - a big up to
Ian Barker for getting right through with only THREE
penalties - any youngsters out there want to challenge
that score?

Saturday, 18 October 2008

Chalk & Cheese

W.O.D. Sat 18th Oct
"Chalk & Cheese"
1 min row / 1 min plank
2 min row / 2 min hang
3 min row / 3 min static squat
4 min row / 4 min waiter hold
3 min row / 3 min static squat
2 min row / 2 min hang
1 min row / 1 min plank
Penalties : every drop off or put down of disc : 3 kettlebell swings

Friday, 17 October 2008

Power Clean & Squat

W.O.D. Fri 17th Oct
"Power Clean & Squat"

Power Clean & Squat 10,8,6,4,2
Sip-ups 50,40,30,20,10

Thursday, 16 October 2008

Jennifer & Sandy's Challenge

W.O.D. Thu 16th Oct
"Jennifer & Sandy's Challenge ~ Version A ~ Oct '08

For four minutes each discipline

Row 4min, rest 1 min

CrossTrain 4 min, rest 1 min

Box Step 4min, rest 1min

repeat for 3 rounds.

Record metres for Row & CrossTrain.
Record number steps, multiply by 10 for score:
eg 112 steps, score 1120

Wednesday, 15 October 2008


W.O.D. Wed 15th Oct
20 Med Ball Clean & Squat
15 Push-ups
10 Pull-ups
Rounds in twenty minutes

Tuesday, 14 October 2008

Front Squats

W.O.D. Tue 14th Oct
"Front Squat Build"
10 hang power cleans twice to warm up wrists followed by
Warm-up sets of, 8 then 6 then 4 reps increasing weight to starting weight.
7 sets of 3 reps increasing weight if possible.

Monday, 13 October 2008

Its a Good One

W.O.D. Mon 13th Oct
"Its a good one!"
Row/Run/CrossFit Train 500m
KBS ~ 21,18,15,12,9
Push Press ~ 9,12,15,18,21

Saturday, 11 October 2008

Cracking the Code

W.O.D. Sat 11th Oct
"Cracking the Code"

1 rep shoulder press
1 rep box step
2 reps shoulder press
3 reps box step
5 reps shoulder press
8 reps box step
13 reps shoulder press
21 reps box step
row/run/crossfit train 500m

four rounds for time

The Dumbbells must be held whilst doing the box steps.
Only put them done when rowing/running etc.

Friday, 10 October 2008

Mr Joshua

W.O.D. Fri 10th Oct
"Mr Joshua"
Run/Row/Cross Train 400m
30 sit-ups
15 Deadlifts 60% 1RM

Thursday, 9 October 2008

The Chipper

W.O.D. Thu 9th Sept
"The Chipper"

50 reps Air squats
40 reps Dumbbell Push Press
30 reps Alt Leg Lunges
20 reps Wallball Shots
10 reps Burpees
10 reps Heavy Shoulder Press
20 reps Knees to elbows
30 reps Med Ball Clean and Squat
40 reps Sit-ups
50 reps Air Squats

Wednesday, 8 October 2008


W.O.D. Tues & Wed 7th & 8th Oct
"D e a d l i f t"

Time for everyone to learn/refresh the deadlift.

Such an integral part of CrossFit and everybody had
a fantastic workout. Some excellent PBs were achieved.
Well done everyone.

Those that had already deadlifted completed:

1000m row and cross train
800m row and cross train
600m row and cross train
400m row and cross train
200m row and cross train

Again, well done everyone. Remember you can post your comments on the workout of the day as well as record you own workouts on the forum.

Monday, 6 October 2008

Fight gone round

W.O.D. Mon 6th Oct
"Fight gone round"
Based on "Fight gone bad"
Box Jumps
Push Press
3 rounds ~ 21 reps/ 15 reps/ 9 reps

Sunday, 5 October 2008

Sweet Little Mystery

W.O.D. Sat & Sun 4th & 5th Oct
"Sweet Little Mystery"
Based on the minute on ~ minute off formula
by throwing darts at the board, each member "selected" the exercise.
1 - 5 row for cal
6 - 10 KBS
11 - 15 KB Slingshot
16 - 20 Shoulder Press
25 - push ups
bullseye - burpees
one more dart was thrown to select the time ~
odd=60 seconds, even=90 seconds

Friday, 3 October 2008


W.O.D. Fri 3rd Oct
250 m row
25 Sit-ups
20 KBS
15 Push-ups
number of rounds in twenty minutes

Thursday, 2 October 2008

The Filthy Fifty

W.O.D. Thu 2nd Oct
"The Filthy Fifty"
50 reps Box Jumps
50 reps Jumping Pull-ups
50 reps KBS
50 reps Alternate Leg Lunges
50 reps Knees to Elbows
50 reps Push press
50 reps Back Extensions
50 reps WBS
50 reps Burpees
50 reps Double Unders

Wednesday, 1 October 2008


W.O.D. Wed 1st Oct
7 reps Thrusters
7 reps SDHP
250 metre row
all for seven rounds